You might think that the title of this blog is a key into, well, how to increase your productivity. However, that is not the case, I am sorry for misinforming you. The real title should be, “What Can A Person Do To Not Become A Bum For A Living?” This is not a statement this is a real-life, serious, future-threatening question, people.

Third quarter has officially come and gone, and it took the little motivation that I had at the beginning of the quarter, with it. Freshman year I thought losing motivation was for weak and the lazy without any goals, and I swore to myself I would never become that person. I thought it wasn’t possible to get burnt out, but I am slowly figuring out it is very possible. I find myself not wanting to do this or that for no reason at all. I may not be there yet, but I am getting close. It is scaring me. I simply cannot enter fourth quarter with the motivation level that consumed me third quarter but…

Fourth quarter starts tomorrow and my room is not clean, and my binders are not cleaned out for my new classes- for a matter of fact I have avoided even looking at my class schedule-in an attempt to avoid extreme anxiety. I am currently trying to keep myself from hyperventilating and going into panic mode while writing this.

I am in need of more than three days to recover from taking an AP Stats final and a pre-calc final on the same day. Here is the list of recovery days I think should be taken into consideration at the next school board meeting. Day 1 after taking finals is for praying. Day 2 after finals is for hoping that powerschool starts working again so that you can see your final grades. Day 3 after finals is for mentally bracing yourself with a positive outlook that powerschool will display the grades you prayed for on Day 1. Day 4 after finals is for getting everything done that you put off in order to get that late night study sesh in. Don’t tell Mother, but I’m pretty sure I avoided cleaning the bathrooms at least 3 times due to AP stats, but it was for a good cause right? Day 5 after finals is for cleaning out all of your binders and burning all of your AP stats notes. Just kidding I’m not going to do that because I made the delightful decision to take the college board test. (I vowed after freshman year to never take another AP test for credit again, and wow I really should have listened to my intelligent freshman self.) Day 6 after finals is reserved for preparing for your new classes, and Day 7 after finals is for racking up as many hours of sleep as you possibly can, to make up for the many you will soon lose. Basically, we need a whole week to recover. I can’t wait for college to start.

There was a lot of sarcasm to that last paragraph, but there was also a lot of truth to it. I really haven’t cleaned the bathrooms for about three weeks. And with whatever time we get after the quarter ends, it is a good idea to get all that stuff done that you put off because you were too busy, clean out and organize the two trees-worth of worksheets from that God awful class, and make a new set of goals and strategies to help yourself make it through these next two months, because you all know we are gonna need it.

I  will eventually get to these things, don’t call me a hypocrite quite yet. I can’t just whine about everything on here. This is a blog, not facebook.

On a “final” note, my final grades are still not able to be seen because powerschool is still not up and if it can’t work, then why should we? Kidding.

Let’s do this fourth quarter.

-Morgan

 

 

Leave a Reply

