For the past three years, I have ran for Vice President in our 2017 student senate election. My first year I had two other competitors, last year I had one, and this year I had none. Despite the fact that I was running unopposed, I had been planning what I wanted to say for my final speech for the past year. Our speeches were due four days before we had to give them, and I had been too busy to even start putting my thoughts on to paper. Typical. I ended up turning in my speech from last year with changed dates,  knowing we were allowed to “edit” our speeches, even after we turned them in. Fast forward 10:30 Thursday night (we were supposed to give our speeches on Friday) I scratched the traditional idea of a “speech”. I wanted to put my ideas from the past year together, but I wanted to make what I put together meaningful.
Some of the most influential things in my life are scripture, lyrics, rhymes, and quotes. I’m not completely sure where the idea came from, but my extremely tired, sensitive self decided to write a poem to read during the election. The next morning I was apprehensive about reading a poem versus the stereotypical “Dear Class of 2017” speech, just because I felt like it was out of place. But hey, it was too late to change anything, and I was determined to get it over with. Due to the fact that my body uncontrollably shakes while in front of a large crowd, I refrained from holding a microphone.
For those of you who have not already seen it, here is a copy of the poem. Like the post if you like or I would love to hear what you think of it! Let me know below in the comments section. 🙂

-Morgan

We’re gathered here
Waiting to hear
about our last year.

Our friends ahead of us are moving on.
Oh How fast these past three years
have come and gone.

It has been 12 years, altogether,
We have known the people sitting around us, for what seems like forever.

For the most part, we have obeyed the rules,
and somehow managed to arrive on time to school.
We have passed our classes
And used the annoying hallway and bathroom passes.
We have found new hobbies
And made new friends
How is there only one year left until
THIS
all ends?

They say we’ll get lazy
We won’t beat the bell
And if we take hard classes, senioritis will make our senior year… Not very much fun.

But it’s not just high school
Where the classes seem hard
There is a whole world out there
Where Life deals the cards

It’s not JUST a high school
Looking back…
It will be the place where you found YOUR place
It will be the school colors you will always remember
It will be the basketball student sections
Every December.

High school boils down to three things:
A cap, a gown, a college.
Will we let these be the only representations of our knowledge?

Now I don’t mean to hate, all those things are great, but they are not what high school is REALLY about

It’s about
Falling and getting back up
finding ourselves and Finding our way
So that we can make the difference in our world some day

This is not JUST high school.
We have one year left to make a difference
We decide how to make the best of this experience.

 

Leave a Reply

